EPA – NSW Environmental Protection Authority

Image of EPA Board

The EPA Board
The EPA is a single, consolidated environmental regulator responsible for protecting the people and environment of NSW now and for future generations. The EPA Board is a statutory body established under s. 15 of the Protection of the Environment Administration Act 1991 (POEA Act) and reflects the Government’s reform initiative to modernise the EPA as an independent, strengthened authority, headed by a statutory position of EPA Chair and a reconstituted EPA Board. The EPA Board will act as an advocate for the community and local government, to hold industry to account for its actions, and to strengthen environmental regulation in NSW.                              ( L-R:  Alec Brennan, Julie Savet Ward, Barry Buffier, Christine Covington, Chris Knoblanche  – details )

 EPA Prosecution Guidelines

Guidelines for Seeking Environmental Orders – eg. community/environmental compensation

Protection of the Environment Administration Act 1991

Annual reports

The first Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Annual Report was tabled in Parliament on 21 November 2012. The EPA Annual Report is included within the Department of Premier and Cabinet Annual Report 2011-12. The EPA section of the report is available from pages 205 to 290.  The EPA was established on 29 February 2012 and this first EPA Annual Report covers the period from establishment to the end of the 2011-12 financial year, including some activities across the entire financial year.

EPA Strategic Plan  (click to enlarge)  Link to 2013-2016 Plan.

EPA Stategy